The Good Life

Though He is called “Prince of Peace” (Is. 9.6), Christ will have no one deluded into thinking that He calls believers to a life devoid of all conflict. 

The MacArthur Daily Bible

I often assumed from past experiences of hearing and seeing Christians smiling and speaking of ‘the good stuff’ was because their life was only full of good. It really was encouraging to see for a while. I was impressed that God could take away all the darknesses, and just give them light. Selfishly, I began to pursue Christ, because I too wanted nothing but light; I had endured the darkness long enough.

Month after month I attended church and prayed to God. God, change me. I want to be more like You and Your people. I want to see good things happen in my life as they proclaim happen in theirs. Do whatever You need to do. Change me please. 

Annnnnnd… nothing. Or so I thought. I didn’t have a grandiose change. God didn’t take away all my darkness because I was still facing it head on everyday.

How come this is so hard for me?

Why does she have it so easy and I’m struggling?

Am I not doing this right?

I believe my selfish intent in the beginning truly hindered me from reveling in what God was slowly working through in my life. And although I was discouraged, I continued to go to church and pray. I worked up the boldness to begin to talk to people and joined a couple small groups. Pasted B said we could join these mini church communities and “just do life together.” Perfect! I had to get to the bottom of “the good life” mystery.

One of my groups truly helped to open my eyes. Life with Grace and Chelsea forever changed my view of God and His people. The 13 week long Freedom curriculum helped me to recognize God’s truth when dealing with my life. It allowed me to deal with my sin and my past so that I could develop a relationship with Christ. I began to see the light I had been yearning for since the beginning of my journey. I was still battling the darkness, but I was now choosing to recognize the light instead.

So that’s how it works. 

My perception of Christian life was not the life they lived. I realized that belief in God and all of His promises provides a hope that generates a life of light. The illumination helps to suppress the darknesses. The bad things will never cease to exist, but God’s strength denies the darkness the power to overcome. His faithfulness to save promotes a desire to continuously seek His truths. God’s love for me encourages me to remain rooted in His Word. Now, I like to think I have a little of the good life too – perhaps I’ve had a little of it all along.

One thought on “The Good Life

Leave a comment